Introductory Post

Who I am

My name is Emmett, and I am a seminarian for the Roman Catholic Diocese of Dallas. I am currently living at the Pontifical North American College in Rome, working on a theology degree from the Pontifical Gregorian University. God willing, I will be ordained to the Diaconate in October of 2014, and then to the Priesthood in the summer of 2015.

Why the name?

The name is meant to imply a connection with St. John the Baptist. I’ve got a particular devotion to him since I was born on one of his feast days. And he’s an important figure in the New Evangelization. He preached about preparing the way of the Lord, and I think there’s a need for a renewal of culture in order for our society to be once again receptive to the Gospel. I intend to expand upon this topic in future posts.

I also think that, while Dallas isn’t exactly a desert, the name is fitting for the blog of a native Texan.

The purpose of this blog

I have been tremendously blessed to have certain unique experiences here in Europe, so the primary purpose of this blog is to share those experiences with family and friends. But I also feel an obligation to put my liberal arts education to good use, so I intend to use this as a medium to muse on things I find interesting. (Hopefully I’m not the only one who finds them interesting.) And finally, as I mentioned above, I hope to reflect on what makes culture conducive to the Gospel, in an effort to promote the New Evangelization.

My views are solely my own, based on a reasonable grounding in the Western Tradition, and subject to correction if necessary. They do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer or any institution with which I am associated.

About Emmett Hall

I'm a seminarian for the Roman Catholic Diocese of Dallas, working on a theology degree at the Pontifical Gregorian University in Rome. My views are solely my own, based on a reasonable grounding in the Western Tradition, and subject to correction if necessary. They do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer or any institution with which I am associated.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

